Top Rated Product

Customer Reviews BETA

MSP430F5529

16-Bit Ultra-Low-Power Microcontroller, 128KB Flash, 8KB RAM, USB, 12Bit ADC, 2 USCIs, 32Bit HW MPY
Overall Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Sort reviews by: Reviews for MSP430F5529
Review 1 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By peterrrrs
Experience: > 1 yr
Design Phase: Research
MSP430F5529
Posted on:October 30, 2014
" Great product. Totally satisfied with the performance and features "
Review 2 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By Mason
Experience: > 1 yr
Design Phase: Research
Location: shanghai
Pleased with performance of this device
Posted on:October 29, 2014
" Pleased with performance of this device
Pleased with performance of this device
"
Review 3 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By yunlin
msp430F5529 is GOOD
Posted on:July 26, 2014
" I think msp430F5529 is suit for me is vey good.
I hope TI will more powerful.
"
Review 4 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By hongli
Experience: < 1 yr
Design Phase: Product Selection
Location: qingdao
some advice of 430
Posted on:June 21, 2014
" Firstly,when I used it,I thought it would be like the series of G.but i foung smewhere defference between each other.i believe if the consistence of header file is better doing,it well have abetter use. "
Review 5 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By libin
Experience: < 1 yr
Design Phase: Product Selection
Location: qingdao
Experience of msp430f5529
Posted on:June 19, 2014
" Thid device can finish the task perfectly.There are good versatility with other chips of msp 430 "
Review 6 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By virochana
Experience: > 20 yrs
Design Phase: Prototype
Location: SEOUL, KOREA
MSP430F5529 launchpad as industry monitor and cont
Posted on:June 9, 2014
Pros: plenty peripheral, low power
" I used this nice device to monitor and control my special machining machine.
The launchpad gave short development and easy application.
Thanks. "
Review 7 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By DUYADONG
do my comptition
Posted on:April 24, 2014
" i am very thanks for your supply,although my english is bad,but i still thanks for TI's supply "
Review 8 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By JoshDrag
Experience: > 1 yr
Design Phase: Prototype
Location: Hopewell Junction, NY
The device worked great for our USB application!
Posted on:January 6, 2014
Pros: capability, simplicity, price
" The device worked great for our USB application. For the past 3 years, I have been monitoring the MP industry for an ease-to-use, well-documented USB device, and TI has delivered with the MSP430 USB line. "
Review 9 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By boseji
Experience: > 5 yrs
Design Phase: Design
Location: India
USB + ULP + ANALOG = MSP430F5529
Posted on:September 7, 2011
Pros: ref + comp modules, xt2 source for usb clock
Cons: lesser software support
" From our experience we were quite happy with using the FT232 and MSP430 Combination. Most of our designs used some sort of precision analog interface. With MSP430F5529 we get all the features in one package. One of the Mandatory requirements was the REF Module and the COMP module which we use extensively. This is a Design win for us as now with one controller we can achieve a lot of Analog processing as well as better connectivity. Another advantage is the Alternate XTAL source for the USB side. This helps us to save power on XT2 and be able to fully support USB suspend feature.
I wish that like the MSP430F5310 if this chip too could have an on-board LDO that would make the ultimate chip going forward.
"
Review 10 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By billthebiker
Experience: > 30 yrs
Design Phase: Prototype
Location: Petaluma, CA
MSP430F5529
Posted on:April 28, 2011
" Great chip, though the USB stack could be cleaner (deployed as a library with better API documentation); also have the host side written in Java or c# "
Review 11 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By useruser
Experience: > 5 yrs
Design Phase: Design
Location: Switzerland
Some ups and downs
Posted on:September 20, 2010
Pros: price improved modules
Cons: usb support documentation/tool chain
" We are using msp430's line in a lot of products, mainly the 2xx series. We also have products with the 3410/msp430 combination. From this side, the 55xx promises good integration with less parts counts. Frankly, I kept an eye on the 55xx line for a long time but...
..the USB support lacks documentation. I think it's embarrassing for TI that the tools and documentation are still marked as prelimenary, 1.5years after releasing the actual product! For a professional developer, it leaves a bad taste of "not tested" HW in the mouth. Please less videos, but more and tested tools and specs!
So.. we are still using the 3410/2xx combination. And we do hope that TI will participate in the development of mspgcc, supporting the USB part of it, releasing tools and updates frequently.
We did use the 54xx serie in another projects and were satisfied with the other peripheral module, particulary the clock module and the better voltage reference / comparatorB. "
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By Anonymous
Experience: > 1 yr
Design Phase: Design
Location: Moscow
Problems
Posted on:April 2, 2010
" There are problems with the documentation on MSP430F5529! All information on USB is released as trial! It very much upsets! It would be desirable to use chips in the projects, but while it very risky! "
Review 13 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By Charper
Excellent Device, Still lacking software
Posted on:February 11, 2010
Pros: price, integrated usb ldo, msp430 features (spi-bi-wire schmitt inputs ...)
Cons: software, no 5v tolerant inputs
" I have used the msp430 with the TUSB3410 plenty of times. It's really a great product combination. However, it's always been lacking compared with some competitor's microcontrollers with integrated USB.
TI has changed that. I would say the msp430 is the best USB microcontroller out there right now. Most notably, the integrated regulator for USB power is absolutely amazing. You can power the msp430 and 3.3V peripherals directly off the USB with no other power supply components. I'm guessing this is where TI's analog expertise really lets their product shine.
However, on the downside:
The software seemed somewhat lacking. There are a few good code examples, but the breadth and depth is still lacking what's available for the simpler TUSB3410. A lack of a USB library for the mspGCC compiler doesn't help matters much either. Of course, I'm sure this will be improved with time. I see that more app notes and documentation have been added recently (February 2010).
Finally, the input pins are not 5V tolerant. This wasn't so important with the other msp430 product lines, but the readily-available 5V supply from the USB is just begging to be used. Adding this would have easily pushed this review to 5 stars. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By apopto5
Experience: > 20 yrs
Design Phase: Research
Location: Reseach Triangle Park, NC
Transitioning
Posted on:December 8, 2009
Pros: lower device count
Cons: more complex software
" I have been using the combination of an MSP430FG4619 and the TUSB3410 on several designs. With this combination, the design is straight forward. There is minimal configuration to some TUSB3410 files and a TI provided TUSB3410 EEPROM Burner makes it easy to program the I2C flash part associated with the TUSB3410. Once you have done it once, it is a “No Brainer” the next time around. From the MSP430 side, the implementation is handling the UART interrupt / interface.
Now with the MSP430F5529, comes the integration of the USB into the MSP430. Although conceptually it sounds nice, the code required appears daunting. There are several examples to play around with, but it is not just dealing with an UART interrupt routine. I do not want to discourage use, but these are my first impressions. I have loaded a couple of the examples and gotten the device to program. Part of the problem is certainly going to be user related. I have my ways of coding and my methods for code organization. My way now has to be adapted to incorporate the methods used in the examples or spend a lot of time re-organizing and re-writing code.
I had hopes that the implementation would be more like adding the file that is currently loaded using the TUSB3410 EEPROM Burner, and adding a USB interrupt to replace the UART interrupt. With a little more time, I expect to be comfortable with this approach.
I would also like to mention that the JTAG interface changes from the MSP430FG4619 to the MSP430F5529. Do not forget to include the TEST/SBWTCK connection to Pin 8. "
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Response from Texas Instruments:By AdrianProduct EngineeringDecember 10, 2009
Most of your points are due to F552x being a true MCU rather than a dedicated-function USB/serial device like the TUSB3410. With that device, you don’t have to write any USB code at all. And you don’t have to worry about merging existing USB software with your software. But like most true MCUs, the MSP430 implements the USB protocol in software and gives the designer the flexibility to change it. Of course there’s no way to anticipate everyone’s coding styles, but we did try to make the software as easy to use as possible. If you would rather buy two devices in order to keep the software separate, then the TUSB3410 might be a better solution for you.
The EEPROM Burner app is definitely useful. MSP430 will be releasing a similar application in the next month.

If you have other questions, please ask on our community at
http://e2e.ti.com
Review 15 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By Nosferatus
Experience: > 5 yrs
Design Phase: Prototype
Location: Switzerland
Good performance with new organisation
Posted on:November 24, 2009
Pros: complet muc, usb on board
Cons: availability, new clock settings, 8 bit limitation of uart
" It is a good microcontroller with a lot of different and interessant features: ADC12, unfified clock, several serial transmission modules and of course USB.
As new organisation, still some problem with unified clock and limited of transmission bits for UART.
"
Review 16 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By wrotto
Experience: > 30 yrs
Design Phase: Prototype
Location: Hamburg
The "Swiss Army Controller"....
Posted on:November 23, 2009
Pros: a 100%
Cons: availability at local electronic shops
" Never thought a really universal microcontroller would become reality.
But I am wrong.
The MSP430F5529 is an old timers dream.
Best of all, a development system is just a couple of Euros.... thanks to Spy by Wire.
This should be the microcontroller students should get started with.
And if the chip would have a D/A converter, it would be perfect. But a man must have dreams.
What else to say- sky is not any longer the limit!
A gratefuld oldhand. "
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MSP430F5529
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By Anonymous
Experience: < 1 yr
Design Phase: Research
Location: Germany
MSP430F5529 first tryout
Posted on:November 23, 2009
" I tried out the MSP using IIC, USCI, ADC and parallel data transfer. Target was to build a develope board for the MSP on which a DAC and a PWM circuit were controlled over IIC.
A OLED Display is controlled by the MSP also and works fine so far.
All the mentioned functions have been tested with an OS and didn't cause any problems. The ADC was very acurate(+-1%) and the interfaces work stable.
I will go on testing the MSP and will test the rest of the processor.
"