Top Rated Product

Customer Reviews BETA

LM386

Low Voltage Audio Power Amplifier
Overall Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Sort reviews by: Reviews for LM386
Review 1 for LM386
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By csreddy
Experience: < 1 yr
Design Phase: Research
They performance is too good
Posted on:October 11, 2014
Pros: good
Cons: price
"it very lesser voltage levels they give accurate results."
Review 2 for LM386
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By KevinSun
Experience: > 1 yr
Design Phase: Research
Location: ZhenJiang,JiangSu,China
perfect
Posted on:July 6, 2014
Pros: performance
"The device is very easy to use.It can make your design more convenient."
Review 3 for LM386
Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By bshaw
Experience: < 1 yr
Design Phase: Prototype
LM386, great for learning
Posted on:May 23, 2014
"This little chip is marvelous for learning about circuits, especially useful circuits. Great for getting kids into electronics."
Review 4 for LM386
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By vinko88
Experience: < 1 yr
Design Phase: Research
Location: Trento, Italy
Very good device
Posted on:May 13, 2014
"Nice product, very useful for low power applications such as portable speakers to be attached to mobile phones or mp3 players."
Review 5 for LM386
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By dperkovic
Experience: > 20 yrs
Design Phase: Research
LM386
Posted on:May 13, 2014
"Simple and usefull small power audio amplifier. Suitable for battery-powered devices."
Review 6 for LM386
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By annonymous
classic chip
Posted on:April 21, 2014
"no problems. my standard application was werved well with this part."
Review 7 for LM386
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By aebatres
Experience: > 5 yrs
Design Phase: Design
Location: NY, Long Island
Great Product
Posted on:April 1, 2014
"I have used a couple of these little puppies to amplify a speaker connected to an MCu, and they work as stated. Very simple to set-up and very versatile. I would definitely recommend the 386 to anyone working in audio applications."
Review 8 for LM386
Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By AJOsmer
Experience: > 5 yrs
Location: San Antonio, TX
Infinitely Versatile Amp/Pre-amp
Posted on:September 23, 2012
Pros: reliable, versatile, high fidelity, few external components, pre-configured gain circuitry
Cons: cannot act as a high voltage pre-amp
"I have used the LM386 in many, many projects for years. Yesterday was the first time I've ever burned one out, and it's because I miswired it badly. It's an incredibly hardy chip with a surprisingly high power output.
I set up a simple sound system in my old car several years ago, using an LM386 in the "bass boost" configuration with a big PA speaker and ran it off of the car's cigarette lighter outlet. It got quite hot, but it worked like a champ, and was even able to drown out the road noise on the highway.
If wired correctly with good components, it also makes for a very high quality pre-amp, taking very small signals from guitar or bass, and bringing them up to line voltage (and with the 200 dB boost created from putting a capacitor between pins 1 and 8, you can even go directly out to a speaker with good volume).
The only thing I could complain about is that I would like a higher voltage rating on it (at least past 24v). But that would make the voltage range of the chip astonishing (5-24v). But as it is, it fits a niche, several actually, and it fits them very well."
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LM386
Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
By suszig
something is wrong
Posted on:July 28, 2012
"LMS 386 is not 70W apmplifier - try to fix this page, please"
0 of 2 found this review helpful.